Jimenez, Arnwine to Faceoff in Runoff

3,730 votes were cast in the March 1st Primary Election in Jones County. Jones County proved that it was still an overwhelmingly red county with 92.49% (3,450 votes) of voters stamping Republican on their voter card vs. the 7.51% (280 votes) being cast in the Democratic Primary.

In the most hotly contested race for Jones County, the quest for the new Jones County Sheriff, Greg Arnwine received 29% of the votes with Danny Jimenez a close second at 25%. Results of the voting were as follows: Greg Arnwine, 939; Danny Jimenez, 805; James Torres, 449; David George, 356; Clifton Morrison, 337; Robby Wedeking, 205; Zachariah Soliz, 136; Matthew Duran, 56. Arnwine and Jimenez will face off in a runoff election, May 24th.

Another big contest was the State Representative, District 71 race for Susan King’s vacated position. Stan Lambert, an Abilene native, won the election. Jones County native Isaac Castro gave a strong showing against Lambert coming in second place overall with a good show of support, but it was not enough to force a runoff. Results of Jones County voting were as follows: Brian Scalf, 176; Stan Lambert, 1,248; Chris Carnohan, 261; Isaac Castro, 1,188; Stacey Scaief, 157.

In the US Representative, District 19 race for Congressman Randy Neugebauer’s vacated seat, Dyess Air Force Base’s former commander Michael Bob Starr carried Jones County with 25% of the vote, but failed to bring in equally strong numbers in the Lubbock and Panhandle areas. Glen Robertson and Jodey Arrington will face off in a runoff for the House of Representative seat. Results of the Jones County voting were as follows: Glen Robertson, 724; Don Parrish, 109; Donald May, 378; John Key, 61; Michael Bob Starr, 749; DeRenda Warren, 64; Jodey Arrington, 619; Jason Corley, 80; Greg Garrett, 173.

Other Jones County results were:

Jones County Commissioner Pct. 3: Ross Davis, 364; Cody Roberts, 206; Matt Miller, 176. (Davis and Roberts will have runoff election May 24.)

Jones County Commissioners Pct. 1: James Clawson 460; Randy Pritchard 284. (Clawson was declared the winner.)

All results are unofficial pending approval by the Commissioner's Court.




Write a comment

Comments: 0