First Meeting For New Commissioners

The Jones County Commissioner’s Court met for their regular meeting on January 12 at 9:00 a.m. This meeting was the first meeting for incoming commissioners Steve Lefevre and Joe Whitehorn.  LeFevre was elected Commissioner for Precinct 2 and Whitehorn was elected again to Precinct 4. During the meeting the court approved deputation of county employees, salaries of the County Auditor, Assistant County Auditor, and Court Reporter, Bailiff pay, salaries of county and precinct officers, and employees, jury pay, licensing and registration fees for tax agent and discussed and took action on per diem rates for county employees when traveling outside the county. Travel expenses were approved for the Judge, a Veterans Service Officer, County Agent and the Home Demonstration Agent. The court also approved the pauper’s funeral expense amount, expense account for juvenile board members, Kash for Kids donations for distribution to Child Protective Services, action on distributing funds to local fire departments, and action on Worker’s Compensation Insurance for volunteer firemen outside city limits who are working fires. Inter-local agreements were approved between Precinct #4 and Anson ISD and the City of Anson.  A grievance committee was chosen from three members of the public and three alternate individuals were picked in case the original three individuals were unable to serve on the committee. The budget, treasurer’s report, budget amendments and line item transfers, and payment of bills were all approved.  The meeting was then adjourned.

Write a comment

Comments: 1
  • #1

    Charles Thorn (Friday, 01 January 2016 13:05)

    Who is the commissioner for Hawley.
    I am looking for a chip and seal contractor for a driveway in Rural Hawley.