Jones County Continues to Vote Primarily Republican in 2012 Election

A total of 5,614 votes were cast in Jones County in the last two weeks: 1,982 in early voting and 3,632 on Tuesday. Jones County proved once again that they are primarily Republican with a whopping 76% made up of 2,141 voters casting a straight republican ticket. 23% of the county voted straight democrat, .43% voted straight libertarian, and .14% voted straight green party.

County wide in the Presidential race the Mitt Romney/Paul Ryan ticket received 4,258 votes. Barak Obama and Joe Biden received 1,225 votes. The Libertarian and Green Party candidates received 64 and 15 votes respectfully and there were 7 write-ins.

In the race for US Senator, Ted Cruz received 73.55% of the vote while Paul Sadler received only 23.75%. US Representative Randy Neugebauer received 4,132 votes to his opponent Richard Peterson’s 731 votes. Christi Craddick won the Railroad Commissioner race with 3,839 votes over Dale Henry’s 1,303.

In the unexpired Railroad Commissioner place, Barry Smitherman received 4,022 votes over his opponents Jaime Perez and Josh Wendel.

In the race for County Commissioner PCT 4 between Greg Pinkston and Joe Whitehorn, Pinkston came out victorious with 921 votes over Whitehorn's 636 votes.

Scott Hansen defeated long-time Constable Darrell E. North with 3,834 votes to North’s 1,502 votes.

In the Anson ISD school board race, winners were Jimmy R. Stevens, Don Heller, and Mitch Heidenheimer. Stevens received 816 votes, Heller 783 votes, Heidenheimer 732 votes, Shea Feagan received 523, and Cody S. Cooley received 474.

For Lueders Avoca ISD school board winners were Susan Wyatt, Cory Clinkinbeard, and Rocky Moore. Wyatt received 132 votes, Clinkinbeard 130, and Moore 129. Karla Hicks received 107 votes, Danny Hubbard 70, Wayne Williams 60, and Victor Kimbrough 38. Carl Pete Moore was elected to the unexpired place with 117 votes to Kim Moorefield's 100 votes.

Danny Dillard was elected the Mayor of Lueders with 58 votes. Write-in candidate Richard Koonce received 18 votes.

In the Lueders City Council winners were Dustin Sweet with 77 votes, Stephen Vinson 71, and Lyndia Willis 57. Arla Jarvis received 47 votes.

The winners of the open Justices and Judge places for Jones County were as follows:

Justice, Supreme Court, Place 2: Don Willett

Justice, Supreme Court, Place 4: John Devine

Justice, Supreme Court, Place 6: Nathan Hecht

Presiding judge, CT of Criminal AP. Place 7: Sharon Keller

Judge, CT of Criminal AP. Place 8: Barbara Parker Hervey

Member, State BoE, Dist. 15: Marty Rowley

State Senator, District 28: Robert Duncan

State Representative, District 71: Susan King

Chief Justice, 11th Court of Appeals: Jim R. Wright

Justice, 11 CT of AP D, P2: Mike Willson

District Attorney, 259th Judicial District: Joe Edd Boaz

County Attorney: Chad Cowan

Jones County Sheriff: Larry A. Moore

County Tax Assessor-Collector: Mary Ann Lovelady

County Commissioner PCT 1: James A. Clawson

County Commissioner PCT 3: Ross Davis


These are unofficial results as of press time.


Write a comment

Comments: 0